The Blood of Women

Christian Lajoumard
2011, 52’

Le Sang des femmes The Pokot live in the northwest region of Kenya and in parts of Uganda. They are a proud and fiercely independent people with a strong cultural identity and vigorous traditions. One of these traditions is female mutilation: a required rite of passage to adulthood. This film records the testimonies of men and women who have experienced this tradition… fight against it and, often, have been victims of it. This film is dedicated to the girls and women we had the privilege of meeting.

BroadcastingCrewProduction Technical informations
• International sales : Beliane (contact@beliane.com) • Institutional distribution North America : Cinefete • TV broadcasting : Télé Paese, Canal France International, Téléssonne
Cinematography : Christian Lajoumard Sound : Arnaud Soulier Editing : Marie-Laure Désidéri Colourist : Arnaud Sentenac Sound mixing : Raoul Fruhauf Pokot translations : Bernard Kedi Kabété French adaptation : Roméo Lajoumard
Produced in collaboration with La Fondation Sentinelles, with the participation of Télé Paese and the support of Centre National de la Cinématographie, the French Embassy in Kenya, the Embassy of Switzerland in Kenya.
• Available in : VO with English subtitles or English dubbing –  VO with French subtitles or French dubbing

Le Sang des femmes

Christian Lajoumard
2011, 52’

Le Sang des femmes Le peuple Pokot est présent dans le nord-ouest du Kenya et dans une partie de l’Ouganda. Fiers, farouchement indépendants, les Pokots sont dépositaires d’une culture très forte et de traditions particulièrement vivaces. Une de ces traditions consiste à mutiler les jeunes filles : passage obligé de l’enfance à l’âge adulte. Ce film est le recueil de témoignages de ceux et de celles qui vivent cette tradition… La combattent et souvent la subissent.

Diffusions EquipeProduction Infos techniques
• Ventes internationales : Beliane (contact@beliane.com) • Diffusion institutionnelle : ADAV (France) – Ciné Fête (Amérique du Nord) • Diffusion TV : Télé Paese, Canal France International, Téléssonne
Image : Christian Lajoumard Son : Arnaud Soulier Montage : Marie-Laure Désidéri Etalonnage : Arnaud Sentenac Mixage : Raoul Fruhauf Traduction Pokot : Bernard Kedi Kabété Adaptation française : Roméo Lajoumard
Produit en collaboration avec La Fondation Sentinelles, la participation de Télé Paese et le soutien du Centre national de la Cinématographie, l’Ambassade de France au Kenya, l’Ambassade de Suisse au Kenya.
• Versions VO sous-titres français / anglais –  Version doublée française / doublée anglais